Feb 3, 2024
0 0


Written by

CCEA is the Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment. It is a non-departmental public body (NDPB) funded by and responsible to the Department of Education (DE). CCEA was established on 1 April 1994 under the Educational and Libraries (Northern Ireland) Order 1993.

CCEA offers 41 GCSE qualifications in a range of subjects. These qualifications, designed to suit students at Key Stage 4, are at Level 1/2 on the Regulated Qualifications Framework.

We’ve worked with educators and industry to ensure that the content and assessment in our GCSE qualifications is both relevant to learners and fit for purpose.

We award GCSEs on a grade scale from A* to G, with A* being the highest.

Each qualification has 120 guided learning hours and contributes to the aim and objectives of the Northern Ireland Curriculum. This includes encouraging students to continue to develop the Cross-Curricular Skills and the Thinking Skills and Personal Capabilities.

As well as subject specifications and assessment materials, we provide a range of online resources to support teachers delivering our GCSE qualifications.

Exam Boards · Past Papers

Leave a Reply